Award Winning Books

Every year, the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) selects the best teen books from that year and honors them within six different book awards. The selected books are generally geared towards teens ages 12 - 18. 

Alex Award -
This award honors ten adult books with special appeal to teens. Library availability of listed titles.

Edwards Award -
The Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author and specific works by that author for significant and lasting contribution for writing to teens. Library availability of listed titles.

Morris Award -
The William C. Morris YA Debut Award honors the best book by a first-time teen author. Library availability of listed titles.

Nonfiction Award -  
The YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award honors the best nonfiction written for teens each year. 

Odyssey Award -
The Odyssey Award honors the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults in English. 

Printz Award -
The Michael L. Printz Award honors the best book written for teens each year. Library availability of listed titles.

Teens Choice Award -
Every August, teens can vote for their favorite books for that year. The top ten are then selected and listed on the YALSA site. Library availability of listed titles. 

You may also be interested in checking out the library's Nutmeg Award books, an award created by the state of Connecticut to encourage readers in grades 2 - 12!