Commission on Aging (formerly Senior Citizen Commission)

  • Ron Foligno, Vice Chairman
  • Alissa Heilbrunn, Secretary
  • Linda Randall 
  • Nancy Lucas
  • Mark Ryan
  • Evelyn Wiesner
  • Barbara Crandall, Clerk

New Charter provision effective December 1, 2020

Section 21.  Commission on Aging.  

  1. Composition and appointment. The Town shall have a Commission on Aging, which shall consist of eight (8) members appointed by the First Selectman for a term of two (2) years. No fewer than four (4) members shall be age 55 or older. No more than five (5) members shall be members of the same political party. 
  1. Duties in general. The Commission shall study the conditions and needs of older adults in the community in relation to housing, economics, employment, health, recreation and other matters. It shall analyze the services for older adults provided by the community, both by public and private agencies, and shall make recommendations to the Town Council regarding the development and integration of public and private agencies, in cooperation with state and other services to the extent possible. The Commission shall also act as an advisory body to the Director of the Senior Center, the Director of Parks and Recreation, and any other Town department charged with providing services and programs to the older adults of our community. The Commission shall act as an advocate for older adult programs and expenditures before the Board of Finance and the Town Council during budget preparation. The Commission shall have all the powers and duties conferred or imposed by the General Statutes and the ordinances of the Town.

  2. Transition. All members of the Senior Citizen Commission as of November 2020 shall be deemed members of the Commission on Aging and shall serve the remainder of their current terms.